Something for others.

It’s 10th of December, the Dignity day which is to raise our voice against poverty. There was a demand from the organization “Every human has rights” to walk barefoot. I never thought whether I would be able to do that or not but the day kept coming close and today I thought let’s give it a try. I sneaked out of my room, discarded my slippers in the presence of our guard without telling him anything and stepped out towards the crossroad. It was an altogether new and strange experience as I was out for the first time, barefoot. I drew little solace from the fact that the soil was soft because of the drizzle. I felt how difficult and painstaking it is to walk on the road without slippers and the next thought which came to me was how detached I was feeling while doing this act since big buildings surround my lane. Oh come on I wasn’t shy but I felt it’s awkward because it can’t help the victims of poverty.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

